Privacy & Security

Dufort et Lavigne’s Privacy & Security policy

 

1. Which laws regulate the disclosure of personal information in the Province of Québec?

 

2. What is personal information?

 

3. What measures has the company taken to protect and safeguard personal information? 

 

4. Does Dufort et Lavigne only protect information about individuals? 

 

5. What information is requested when opening an account?

 

6. What information must Dufort et Lavigne have in its possession in order to carry out transactions with customers? 

 

7. Will Dufort et Lavigne use my account information for purposes other than commercial transactions?

 

8. Is it possible to verify the information retained about customers (for example, about the practitioner or clinic)?

 

9. Will it be safe to make transactions on Dufort et Lavigne’s website?

 

10. Is Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) safe?

 

11. Is it likely that the Privacy and Security policy will change?

 

1. Which laws regulate the disclosure of personal information in the Province of Québec?

Dufort et Lavigne fully complies with the applicable federal laws (Privacy Act (RS, 1985, Chap. P-21) and Law on the Protection of Personal Information and Electronic Documents Act (SC 2000, Chap. 5)) as well as the applicable provincial law (An Act respecting the Protection of Personal Information in the Private Sector (RSQ, Chapter P-39.1)).

 

2. What is personal information?

Personal information refers to any information which relates to a natural person and allows that person to be identified.

 

3. What measures has taken the company to protect and safeguard personal information?

Dufort et Lavigne takes the protection of its clients’ personal information seriously and, for that reason, the company applies specific protection measures.

Starting on their date of hire, employees with access to clients’ account information must sign a written confidentiality agreement under which they agree not to disclose any information whatsoever, except when they are required to do so within the scope of their functions, both during their period of employment at Dufort et Lavigne and following termination.  

Moreover, we have established specific electronic security measures. Passwords and personal ID numbers are created for each employee with access to a workstation. Employees also have limited access to customer account information, which is restricted and determined based on their functions and needs.

In no event does Dufort et Lavigne disclose, sell, lease, lend or market information about its customers. The company uses customer data solely for internal administrative purposes, such as responding to calls for tender, billing, delivery and invoice processing, issuing account statements or following up in the event of a recall and communicating with manufacturers.

 

4. Does Dufort et Lavigne only protect information about individuals?

No. Dufort et Lavigne’s policy encompasses the protection of personal information for all clientele (private, public, semi-public and institutional sectors).

Dufort et Lavigne requires employees given access to information about customer accounts to exercise good judgment and discretion at all times to ensure that all information about individuals, clinics, drugstores, organizations, corporations, companies, etc., is protected. We also protect information about private and public institutions that do business with Dufort et Lavigne.

 

5. What information is requested when opening an account? 

The Accounting Department is responsible for setting up new accounts and collecting the necessary information, such as personal identification information, billing and shipping addresses, telephone and fax numbers, and email addresses. The accounts receivable clerk will request information about the best delivery day and time for goods purchased, as well as preferences for the sending of invoices and account statements. Lastly, the clerk will ask for credit references, namely, the name and bank details of two major suppliers. 

As for practitioners, Dufort et Lavigne will request information about their field of activity (doctor, dentist, etc.) and licence number in order to comply with requirements concerning the sale of prescription drugs. This information is also necessary for the customer’s credit evaluation. In addition, the clerk may request the names and contact information of a resource person and the best delivery days and times for the goods ordered.

When deemed appropriate and necessary, a credit investigation may be required to open an account with Dufort et Lavigne. Information and authorizations in this regard will be requested.

 

6. What information must Dufort et Lavigne have in its possession in order to carry out transactions with customers?

Dufort et Lavigne only collects information needed to process requests and complete transactions. We ensure that we have the necessary information, whether it is a company or health care provider account, or a remote or direct order from one of our stores. The information retained also depends on the delivery terms for goods purchased and the preferred payment method.


Purchases:
Dufort et Lavigne provides an invoice (in compliance with the Consumer Protection Act, RSQ, Chap. P-40.1) upon payment of the goods ordered. The invoice solely includes the information deemed necessary. Furthermore, the buyer’s identification information (first and last name, if an individual), full address and telephone number as well as the preferred method of payment must appear on all invoices.

All credit or debit payments are transmitted to RBC Royal Bank of Canada, which has established its own policies for the protection and safeguarding of personal information. This financial institution has also developed an encryption technique designed to make transactions safe.  

Remote purchases (online, by phone, fax, mail, email or EDI):
When Dufort et Lavigne processes remote purchase requests, the following information is required: the buyer’s identification information (first and last name, if an individual), billing and shipping addresses, telephone and fax numbers, business hours and delivery times and, if applicable, the name and contact information of a resource person to keep track of the order.

If an account has not been opened with Dufort et Lavigne, we will require the following information: the buyer’s identification information (first and last name, if an individual), delivery and billing addresses, telephone number and the information deemed necessary for credit card payments (cardholder's name, date of expiry and credit card number).

 

7. Will Dufort et Lavigne use my account information for purposes other than commercial transactions?

Dufort et Lavigne may, in some cases, use account information to trace customer orders with the manufacturer, drug or equipment supplier, particularly to ensure compliance with the guarantees on the equipment purchased or to notify you of a product recall as required by Health Canada or the manufacturer.

 

8. Is it possible to verify the information retained about customers (for example, about the practitioner or clinic)?

You may access your account information at all times, after verifying and confirming your identification information. 
The Accounts receivable officers at Dufort et Lavigne’s headquarters, whom you may contact during regular office hours, manage your account information.

Customers may, at any time, update their account information with Dufort et Lavigne.

 

9. Is it safe to carry out transactions on Dufort et Lavigne’s website?

Dufort et Lavigne ensures that all transactions carried out on its site are in accordance with industry standards and provide the highest level of security.

 

10. Is Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) safe?

Dufort et Lavigne is a technology partner of Commport Communications International Inc, which has adopted its own policies on the security of information and privacy while being at the cutting edge of secure protection systems and measures. 
For years, the company has used EDI (Electronic Data Interchange) in its trade relations with key Canadian and US suppliers and with large hospitals in the Province of Québec. Data confidentiality within an EDI system is primarily ensured by encrypting all messages sent between business partners. Thus, only the intended recipients can access their messages.

 

11. Is it likely that the Privacy and Security policy will change?

Dufort et Lavigne’s concerns and activities regarding privacy and security are constantly changing, and may vary and be modified according to changes in the products and services offered by Dufort et Lavigne. These changes may result from technological developments and breakthroughs in this field and, lastly, changes in the applicable laws.

Dufort et Lavigne invites its customers to consult this section regularly to learn about new releases or updates. For example, in a very near future, the site will offer options such as account consultation, contracts and price agreements consultation, and the possibility of paying bills or shopping online. Moreover, the company will disclose its security protocols aiming to provide the best possible protection (namely, through usernames and passwords) and ensure optimal security for all transactions on our website.

Fermer

La vente de plusieurs produits de protection et de désinfection est restreinte et l’allocation se fait selon les habitudes d’achat et la disponibilité des stocks.

 

Tout le personnel de Medline | Dufort et Lavigne travaille de façon acharnée afin de traverser cette période exceptionnelle. Cependant il se peut que le temps d’attente pour parler à un de nos représentants du service à la clientèle soit plus long qu’à l’habitude.

 

Les transporteurs avec lesquels nous travaillons sont également touchés par les événements. Par conséquent, nous ne pouvons garantir les délais de livraison habituels.

 

Confidentialité et Sécurité

La politique de confidentialité et sécurité de Dufort et Lavigne

1. Quelles sont les lois qui régissent le traitement des renseignements personnels au Québec?

2. Qu’est-ce qu’un renseignement personnel?

3. Quelles sont les actions prises par l’entreprise pour la protection des renseignements personnels?

4. Est-ce que Dufort et Lavigne se limite à sécuriser les renseignements concernant les individus?

5. Quels sont les renseignements demandés lors d’une ouverture de compte?

6. Quelles informations Dufort et Lavigne doit-elle posséder pour assurer les transactions avec sa clientèle?

7. Est-ce que Dufort et Lavigne utilisera les informations sur mon compte pour d’autres utilisations qu’une transaction commerciale?

8. Est-ce possible de vérifier les renseignements possédés à l’égard de clients (soit, par exemple, sur le praticien personnellement ou encore sur la clinique)?

9. Sera-t-il sécuritaire de faire des transactions sur le site Internet de Dufort et Lavigne?

10. Est-ce que les échanges de documents informatisés (EDI) sont sécuritaires?

11. Est-ce que les informations en matière de sécurité et confidentialité changeront?


1. Quelles sont les lois qui régissent le traitement des renseignements personnels au Québec?

Dufort et Lavigne se conforme entièrement aux lois fédérales ( Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ( L.R., 1985, Chap. P-21) et Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (L.C., 2000, Chap. 5)) ainsi qu’ à la loi provinciale ( Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé ( L.R.Q., Chap P-39.1)) applicables à cet égard.

2. Qu’est-ce qu’un renseignement personnel?

Un renseignement personnel est tout renseignement qui concerne une personne physique et permet de l'identifier.

3. Quelles sont les actions prises par l’entreprise pour la protection des renseignements personnels?

Dufort et Lavigne prend très au sérieux la protection des renseignements personnels de ses clients et pour cela, l’entreprise applique certaines mesures.

Ainsi, dès l’embauche, un employé ayant accès aux informations sur les comptes clients se doit de signer des engagements de confidentialité aux termes desquels il s’engage à ne révéler aucunes des informations auxquelles il aura accès, sauf lorsque les usages des affaires l’imposent dans les limites de ses fonctions, et ce, tant pendant la durée de son emploi pour Dufort et Lavigne que suite à la terminaison de son emploi.

De plus, des mesures de sécurité électroniques sont en place par l’octroi de mots de passe et de numéros d’identification personnels pour chacun des employés ayant accès à un poste de travail. Les employés ont des accès limités aux informations des comptes clients, lesquels sont restreints et établis selon leurs fonctions et leurs besoins.

En aucun cas, Dufort et Lavigne ne donne, vend, loue, prête ou commercialise des informations sur sa clientèle. L’entreprise utilise les données de ses clients uniquement à des fins administratives internes, tels que pour répondre aux soumissions, pour exécuter la facturation, la livraison et le traitement des factures, l’émission des états de compte ou encore afin d’assurer les suivis appropriés en cas de rappel ou autres communications avec le manufacturier.

4. Est-ce que Dufort et Lavigne se limite à sécuriser les renseignements concernant les individus ?

Non. Dufort et Lavigne étend la protection des informations concernant les individus également à l’ensemble de sa clientèle (domaine privé, public, parapublic et institutionnel).

Dufort et Lavigne exige que ses employés, pouvant avoir accès à des informations sur les comptes client, fassent preuve en tout temps de jugement et de discernement afin d’assurer ainsi la meilleure protection des renseignements des individus ainsi que des cliniques, pharmacies, associations, corporations, entreprises, etc., ainsi que toutes institutions privées et publiques qui font affaires avec Dufort et Lavigne.

5. Quels sont les renseignements demandés lors d’une ouverture de compte ?

C’est le Service de la comptabilité qui se charge des ouvertures de compte et de l’obtention des informations pertinentes à cet égard, telles que l’identification des propriétaires, adresses de livraison et facturation, numéros de téléphone et télécopieur et adresse courriel. Le commis aux comptes clients demandera des informations relatives aux jours et heures appropriés pour la réception de la marchandise commandée et lorsque désiré concernant la réception par télécopieur des factures et états de compte. Enfin, il exigera des références de solvabilité, soit le nom et les coordonnées bancaires et de deux principaux fournisseurs.

Dans le cas d’un praticien, Dufort et Lavigne exige des informations concernant le domaine d’activité (médecin, dentiste, etc.) et du numéro de permis d'exercice lui permettant ainsi de respecter les exigences relatives à la vente de médicaments et de drogues contrôlées simplifiant ainsi ses recherches au niveau du crédit du client. Enfin, les noms et informations d’une personne-ressource ainsi que les jours et heures propices à la réception de la marchandise commandée pourront être demandés.

Lorsque jugée appropriée et nécessaire, une enquête de crédit pourra être nécessaire pour l’ouverture d’un compte chez Dufort et Lavigne. Des informations et autorisations en ce sens seront demandées.

6. Quelles informations sont requises par Dufort et Lavigne pour assurer les transactions avec sa clientèle ?

Dufort et Lavigne recueille uniquement les renseignements dont elle a besoin pour traiter toute demande ou conclure une transaction. Dufort et Lavigne s’assure d’avoir certaines informations, selon qu’il s’agisse d’un compte avec une entreprise ou un professionnel de la santé, ou encore, s’il s’agit d’une commande à distance ou directement avec l’un de nos magasins. Les informations retenues dépendent également des modalités d’acheminement des articles commandés et du mode de paiement privilégiés.

Achat :
Une facture de Dufort et Lavigne (conforme à la Loi sur la protection du consommateur, L.R.Q, Chap. P-40.1) est remise lors du paiement des articles désirés. Sur la facture, seules les informations jugées nécessaires sont inscrites. Par ailleurs, l’identification de l’acheteur (nom et prénom, si particulier), adresse complète et numéro de téléphone ainsi que le mode de paiement privilégié doivent apparaître sur toute facture.

Tous les paiements effectués par cartes de crédit ou de débit sont transmis vers la RBC Banque Royale du Canada, laquelle a adopté ses propres politiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Cette entreprise financière a également élaboré une technique de cryptage visant à rendre sécuritaires les transactions effectuées.


Achat à distance (achat en ligne, par téléphone, télécopieur, courrier, courriel ou EDI) :
Lorsque Dufort et Lavigne traite des demandes d’achat à distance, les informations suivantes sont nécessaires: identification de l’acheteur (nom et prénom, si particulier), adresses de livraison et facturation, numéros de téléphone et télécopieur, les jours et les heures d’ouverture pour la réception de la marchandise et, s’il y a lieu, les nom et informations de contact d’une personne-ressource pour faire le suivi de la commande.

Si aucun compte n’est ouvert auprès de Dufort et Lavigne, les informations demandées seront : identification de l’acheteur (nom et prénom, si particulier), adresses de livraison et facturation, numéro de téléphone et les informations nécessaires à tout paiement effectué par carte de crédit (nom titulaire, date expiration et numéro de carte de crédit).

7. Est-ce que Dufort et Lavigne utilisera les informations sur mon compte pour d’autres utilisations qu’une transaction commerciale ?

Dufort et Lavigne peut, dans certains cas, utiliser les renseignements sur tout compte pour assurer un suivi entre ses clients et le fabricant ou manufacturier de tous médicaments ou équipements, afin notamment de faciliter le respect des garanties sur l’équipement acheté ou encore pour vous aviser d’un rappel de produits exigé par Santé Canada ou encore par le fabricant.

8. Est-ce possible de vérifier les renseignements possédés à l’égard de clients (soit, par exemple, sur le praticien personnellement ou encore sur la clinique) ?

En tout temps, mais sujet aux vérification et confirmation d’identité, vous pouvez avoir accès à tous renseignements de votre compte.
La transmission de ces informations sur votre compte sont faites par les responsables des comptes clients du Service de la comptabilité au siège social de Dufort et Lavigne, lesquels peuvent être contactés durant les heures de bureau.

Tout client peut, en tout temps, mettre à jour les informations relatives à son compte auprès de Dufort et Lavigne !

9. Est-t-il sécuritaire de faire des transactions sur le site Internet de Dufort et Lavigne ?

Dufort et Lavigne s’assure que toutes les transactions effectuées sur son site de même que les paiements répondent aux normes de l’industrie et fournissent le plus haut niveau de sécurité

10. Est-ce que les échanges de documents informatisés (EDI) sont sécuritaires ?

Dufort et Lavigne est un partenaire technologique de Commport Communications International Inc, laquelle a adoptée ses propres politiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, en plus d’être à la fine pointe de systèmes et mécanismes de protection sécuritaires.
Depuis des années, l’entreprise utilise le système EDI (Échange de Données Informatisées) dans ses relations commerciales avec ses principaux fournisseurs canadiens et américains et depuis peu, avec de grands hôpitaux du Québec. La confidentialité des données d’un système EDI est assurée, entre autres grâce au chiffrement de tous les messages transférés entre partenaires commerciaux. Ainsi, seul le destinataire du message peut l’ouvrir.

11. Est-ce que les informations en matière de sécurité et confidentialité changeront ?

Les préoccupations et les actions entreprises par Dufort et Lavigne en matière de protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que de sécurité sont en constante évolution et pourront varier et être modifiées en fonction des changements aux produits et services offerts par Dufort et Lavigne, en raison des développements de la technologie en ce domaine et enfin de modifications apportées aux lois applicables.

Dufort et Lavigne invite sa clientèle à consulter régulièrement cette section pour prendre connaissance des mises à jour apportées. Par exemple, très prochainement, le site offrira des options de consultation des comptes, des contrats et ententes de prix, des possibilités de paiement de factures ou encore d’achats en ligne, elle y inscrira ses protocoles de sécurité pour assurer la meilleure protection alors possible (notamment par nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe) afin que toutes les transactions sur son site soient des plus sécuritaires.